Triathalon Part 2- VINYL

I’m definitely not going to say I am a graphic designer. I have had to figure things out as I go, (video editing, graphics, web design, etc) and while I love Photoshop to death, every time I do a project (whether a poster or a sticker) I learn something new. And by the time I am done, I want to start all over again and apply all that new found wisdom. No time on this one. You have all seen the mockups and that excitement. Those are like 3 inch images that were placed on a photo of an excursion limo with big wheels and drivelines drawn in. Converting that into a 35’long image is a little tricky. You know. I should take a class or something. It would probably save a lot of time in my life. Maybe next time.
Anyway, thanks to all you voters on the design of the truck (what like a year ago) I had to redo ALL the graphics because it ended up being a blend of the designs. Not a big deal, except I wasn’t anticipating Derrick, owner of Las Vegas Car Wraps stepping in and joining the old BTR team. So the most awesome thing, suddenly became my worst nightmare, and when Photoshop failed me and corrupted my open files (which was all of them) it became the worst possible scenario. Sure, sure, there might have been some procrastination involved, buuuuuuuuuuuuut the sides were mostly done prior to that point.
Nothing like a do-over, when you really have no idea what you are doing in the first place. I just know a lot of clicking takes place, that I can drag images from Illustrator to Photoshop sometimes, but not always and that I don’t understand 99% of the jargon on the program. Someday…..but for now, time to get the Hustler some skin.
Also, side note, don’t use two year old lap tops for graphic design. I’m impressed mine help up as much as it did, but I’m not gonna lie, there were moments of the laptop nearly being airborne, shot, driven over, thrown in a tub of water, and tarred and feathered. Yeah. And as you all know…my battery likes to fall out when I move the computer…so, that probably accounts for half of the time I spent on this thing.
As promised, the truck was measured last Saturday, and Tuesday was the big day. Derrick, Ryan, and Ryan came out and knocked that bad boy out. It was poetry in motion. We watched a good portion of it, and I didn’t even pretend to be working. Vinyl is just so dang cool, and these guys are fantabutastic. Of course I stalked them, taking lots of pictures, but they were used to the stardom. Nope, the limelight didn’t get these guys. They showed up, scaffolding together faster than I could grab my phone, and before I knew it, the first panel was being laid down.

Prepping for vinyl

Prepping for vinyl

 

Setting the vinyl in place

Setting the vinyl in place

Situating

Situating

See how cool is this stuff???

See how cool is this stuff???

The plan was get the solid vinyl on Tuesday, then come back and do the perforated vinyl and the top on Wednesday. Two ginormous monster truck sides and one hood later, they were packed up and ready to come back the next day. Everything went flawlessly as far as I could tell, and they even improvised by doing a drop look on the bottom of the truck so the image wouldn’t look distorted by wrapping the underside and then the lowest panel. Freaking genius if you ask this girl. Picture below.

See the gap?

See the gap?

And now see how the picture flows better?

And now see how the picture flows better?

20140415_183924

 

20140415_221157

20140415_221615

I knew eventually the top of the truck would prove useful for a shot

20140415_225017

Ok so if I thought starting the motor was life changing, vinyl was pretty much ten times past that. I don’t know what it is, but like I told Melissa, its like you can have a cake, and it might be the most difficult, best tasting cake out there, but it still just looks like a cake. Now, you stick some fancy pants frosting on it and BOOM, you have magic. That was exactly what the vinyl did. Magic. The truck transcended from “project” into reality. It now looked like the energy drinks, like the images I was sending to sponsors…..but better.
So yesterday, the crew, whittled to two, came back out to finish up. We opted to do the roof in White plain vinyl so that it would keep the truck cooler. WHICH I forgot to mention required a few hours of DAing the roof to get off all the surface rust and weird welding beads. What a mess. But, the vinyl probably wouldn’t have cooperated without, so I’m just going to say it was worth it. Oh and we had to paint the underside of the hood before they wrapped it too, so that required some additional work. I taped and then brad sanded the inside to scuff it up, carefully blowing the dust in my direction. HENCE my voice went to crap and I sound like the cell reception between here and Vegas. Everyone here seems to think it is hilarious. So far I have been told I should go on American Idol (thanks Steve) that I sound like a 16 year old (thanks Alex) and that I should just quit talking. Fine. If that is the case, then you make the phone calls. –that’s what I thought.

A last minute thought, looks pretty awesome though!

A last minute thought, looks pretty awesome though!

Perforated Vinyl over the windows

Perforated Vinyl over the windows

ahh so pretty with no surface crud

ahh so pretty with no surface crud

 
So bloody nose, raspy voice, and weird puberty sounding squeaks aside, we trucked on, juggling the three ring circus in the shop, and last night they finished the wrap. I know Brad was beyond stoked, I was ecstatic, and Steve was in awe. The only parts left are just to drop in the website into the bumper inserts, and Steve already made his contribution by wrapping the emblem. It was a tough debate between putting Hulkster on it and the company…but in the end the company won out. Sorry bulldog. I’ll put you on the roof next time.

Steve hard at work after hours

Steve hard at work after hours

So I would like to give a HUGE, nay GINORMOUS shout out to Derrick and the guys at Las Vegas Car Wraps. They were freaking amazing, and knocked the job out with a fluidity you rarely find! Stay tuned on their endeavors with us, because we will be wrapping the novelty/ticket trailer, the Vanborghini, and probably an assortment of other things. Excited to have them on board with us! If you need wrapping you can see their website at http://www.LasVegasCarWraps.com . They do some amazing stuff. Love it!

20140417_092427 20140417_092444

Leave a Reply

