Little Miss Muscles

After my DOM tubing write up, I needed a blog break. While I am still trying to post frequently, some days are just better than others, and definitely more exciting. Much of the last couple weeks has been cutting, welding, bending, and notching tubing, and since the guys look exactly the same in the same position each time try to capture the action, it’s almost boring. Ok well, it is boring, at least to write about every day. Don’t get me wrong, what they are doing is super impressive, but after a while there are only so many ways you can say it.

Sunday, aside from becoming the master of all things DOM, we were treated by Naomi and Dave to a delightful (and slow) breakfast in “town”. It was an “un-mother’s day, since neither of us have kids. We debated between heading to the river and taking a nap, when a guy called on a bronco we were wanting to check out. Sweet…off to Vegas we go. And back to Arizona we came…with a 65 Bronco. Side project for the week.

Yesterday was fabrication of the side rails that will be used to mount the chassis to the frame. I actually was invited to partake in the bending of the tubes, more I think for sport than for help. Brad enjoys laughing at my expense, but I was determined not to let him win. FYI the first couple bends are a bit tough, but in the 100 degree weather after a few your muscles get a little weak – especially when you sit on your bum day in and day out working on a computer. I don’t even have time to work out. The time I use to post this blog is my workout time. Ok…back to bending. So I bent probably 4 bars, which is only 8 bends. I reeaaaaly wasn’t sure if I would make the last one. (I don’t have weight to my advantage) but there was no way I was going to let Brad win and give up. NO WAY. Not only would he laugh, but he would tease me about it for the next month. I already provide ample fodder for that, and whatever I can eliminate…I will. I won. I might have been panting quietly in the corner, but I finished, and thoroughly enjoyed being out in the shop. The guys just don’t realize how annoying computer work is and how I can feel myself turning into the couch. MISERY.

The past two days have been toasty. Like upper-90’s. I personally freeze my butt off because Brad cranks the AC to 60 so I’m in a coat and pants, which looks ridiculous each time I run outside. The welding work has been miserable (not that I have been doing it, but OH MY GOSH do I have to listen to it… and just that aspect is awful.)

Today they finished up the side rails for the chassis and aligned the mounting position underneath the  body. It is looking pretty saaaaweeeeeet. Next on the agenda is to mount the frame to the body. So cross your fingers. We called it a day a little early and hit the river. Ahhh. Hulk was happy to swim.

And you wonder why it is taking so long?

And you wonder why it is taking so long?

IMAG5211 IMAG5209

LOOOOOOOOOOONG

LOOOOOOOOOOONG

Side rails installed

Side rails installed

So nice

So nice

Yes, he is under water

Yes, he is under water

Leave a Reply

