And We’re OFF!

Things I did not want to do today:

  1. Spend several hours on the phone being a total snatch.

I hate being demanding and borderline rude, but man, is it possible that companies can have ANY worse customer service???? What the crap? I don’t wake up wanting to argue for hours because your company provides me with inexcusably terrible service. I would much rather start my day off with sunshine and happiness because it transfers over to the rest of my day and doesn’t make me want to maim or injure people.

  1. Open up and break my front door because of the wind, as well as get pelted on my way into the shop by the poor grasshoppers that jump and get blown 40 feet from their intended destination.
  2. Vacuum the black rug only to have the dog immediately relocate to it
  3. Get nothing fully accomplished

 

Office work totally sucks. The boys got a nice early start, which was wonderful after not sleeping for crap all night because of the gale force winds outside. You know it’s windy you start to dream about it and then proceeds to wake you up multiple times.

I whipped up breakfast (which was fabulous because I didn’t have to rely on the outside BBQ/Stove) and they got to work sketching out the main frame rails.  Because of the length of the chassis, the two main rails will be assembled on the floor matching the sketch and measurements drawn on it. Similar to the kid puzzles that have the picture in the background, and you lay the matching piece over the top. While that might not seem like the most accurate or ideal plan, so far between the chalk lines and the soapstone, it appears to be working swimmingly. (yes I used “swimmingly”)

Blueprints

Blueprints

 

See the markers?

See the markers?

The new bender has been a bit of trial and error. All the helpful videos online show small pipe or thin walled pipe being bent. It’s a bit trickier and harder to set up with the big DOM we are using. First the bends were lifting so that the entire pipe wasn’t laying flat. Then the bends weren’t measuring correctly in the angles, so a 90 degree bend was actually only an 85. However, like any other new toy, they will figure it out. I guess it is a good thing I ordered extra tubing. See? I am a genius.

They'll figure it out.

They got this

I am so glad that we can finally get something concrete in motion. While I seem to have an unlimited amount of things to do and follow up on, Brad and Mike were definitely getting antsy and this allows them to get back on track- not to mention out of my hair.

Of course, somehow they always manage to leave for lunch. A mysterious trip conveniently takes both of them into Dolan Springs for a 10 dollar part…odd that the restaurant is there as well. Don’t worry. I will just keep working. Someone has to be doing something. At least today I don’t have to be in the outside wind. Blech.

Once they returned from gallivanting the desert, the cracked down and made some customizations and adjustments to the bender, to get it operating perfectly. Some initial bends got done, and then they broke out the notcher to give it a whirl. A few more tweaks and modifications later, the equipment was running smoothly. Brad manned the drill press and finished up the shock mounts. It’s a slow process, and you can’t be impatient. No patience= broken bits and burning. Not much of a job for me, but Brad seems to enjoy it. In addition to the drill press he also knocked off and cleaned the edges on the mounts so they were uniform and clean.

Drill press action

Drill press action

Oil is dropped into the drilling hole to allow lubrication

Oil is dropped into the drilling hole to allow lubrication

Notcher

Notcher

Up close on a 90 degree cut

Up close on a 90 degree cut

 

By the end of the day, the 2 main rails for the chassis are mock assembled on the floor, ready for some welding. Tomorrow, the remainder of the welding holders will arrive, and I know Metal Mike enjoyed the new angle finder already. Also on the menu are the new hole saws for the notcher, which will make using it much more efficient. On my agenda? Order a lift, yell at more people, and order a boat of tires. Sweet. See ya tomorrow!

Hulk supervises

Hulk supervises

Tach welds

Tach welds

IMAG4841

Leave a Reply

