Metal has arrived, now we might have to work

Well, yesterday was more eventful than the day before, but it was still mostly goofing off. I’m telling you these boys are the worst lolly-gaggers on the planet. EVERY time I went outside from my cave Brad was on the phone and Mike was complaining about how crappy our new EPA solvent was. On a side note, can someone explain why on earth chemical fluids that are EPA friendly burn your skin instantaneously but the old “destroy the polar ice caps “ stuff, seemed to leave hands only mildly irritated after HOURS of soak time. ANYWAY…. Not a lot of action out in the shop.

Good news! The office is getting upgraded! We got the green light that the toy hauler from the Fire Department will be ready for us to buy next week. I will finally have 2 places that I can move my laptop around to, which will be wonderful. AND- when I need a break I can hop on the Versaclimber or do a quick workout. Ah space. A luxury you don’t realize you miss.  (Even though it is nice not to spend days cleaning my entire house) I’ll post pictures when we pick it up next week.

Halfway through the day my internet went on strike, and because I wasn’t willing to make its demands the rest of my day was spent out in the shop. My walk out timed perfectly with half of our metal’s arrival, which was getting trucked in from California. Driver backed in and opened up the door. We all held our breaths as the door opened, minds in unison, anticipating that the metal really wouldn’t be what we thought. For the price, it just seemed impossible that it could be. It was a third the price of our local distributer AND it was delivered to my front door. AMAZING.  Lo and behold, as the door rolled up, it unveiled 524 ft of DOM tubing, which was exactly what I ordered. Wow.

Being the blog poster has its advantages. Under normal circumstances I would be getting dirty and helping haul out pipes, BUT today, I just got to watch and take pictures as Brad, Mike, and Dave unloaded them. I’m sure they thoroughly appreciated my photo snapping in the action, but fortunately I managed to get some without middle fingers and menacing glares. It sure doesn’t seem like much metal when you look at it, but stick it all together in a cage and it’s going to be ridiculous (plus this picture is only about ½ of the metal we are going to be getting)

After the metal delivery interruption, the distraction level increased and the boys were mostly ambling about cleaning parts here and there. Mike spent a good amount of time attempting to chisel years of baked on grease, dirt, and oxidation from the outer axle hubs. Sometimes the backside of a hammer is more productive than the front. The axles still aren’t pretty but they are getting there. A few more days of soaking parts and scrubbing and angry chiseling should get them in tip top shape.

Between the warm, lazy day, and the constant annoyance of the birds returning, not much else got accomplished. I dismantled the dash that was in the limo to sell the parts on EBay, and cleaned them up. For how filthy they were, they sure cleaned up to look like new.

All said and done, not the highest production day, but until our bender arrives, we aren’t going full tilt. We rounded off the afternoon at the river, taking Hulk (our bulldog) for a swim, because he’s been cooped up inside with me and was semi-deserving of a swim.

Metal has arrived

Metal has arrived

Dave the do-it-all guy lending a hand.

Dave the do-it-all guy lending a hand.

Now you know why EPA friendly solvent doesn't work

Now you know why EPA friendly solvent doesn’t work

It looks bigger in real life

It looks bigger in real life

Mike being productive in the parts washer

Mike being productive in the parts washer

This is what normally is happening when I come outside

This is what normally is happening when I come outside

Leave a Reply

